My feature piece in JAY Z’s Life+Times Newsletter

IT’S NEVER TOO LATE FOR A “RETURNSHIP”

Joyce Marie Wright

I’m retired and spend a lot of time online to keep current. JAY Z’s Life+Times Facebook page announced a contest with the grand prize as a week-long internship with the staff at Life+Times. My first thought…this would be an incredible experience and incredible experiences are what retirement should be all about. My second thought…who says an intern has to be young? Applicants needed to write a short essay on why they should be selected and they had to be 21 and over. Piece of cake on both scores.

Four days later, I got a call…I was chosen to be one of the five finalists. During an online video interview I spoke with two staffers for about 15 minutes.

Two days later, I got the second call. I had been chosen as the grand prize winner. I was in the supermarket and I’m sure the people around me thought I was bonkers; there were a lot of wide grins, hand to mouth, hand to chest and back to mouth again. I could barely contain myself!

To read the rest and sign up for the Newsletter,  click here!

3 thoughts on “My feature piece in JAY Z’s Life+Times Newsletter

  1. Understand that you’ll made the “RIGHT” DECISION ON MY AUNTIE…………SHE DESERVES THIS MORE THEN ANYONE.!!!!!! I AM ENJOYING YOUR EXCITEMENT AUNTIE

  2. Just as I thought you would, you knocked that “Returnship” out of the park! “Don’t call it a comeback”, because it isn’t. It’s your time, Joyce. Embrace it and don’t allow fear or procrastination to rob you of sharing your gift with the world. As writers, we are often our toughest critics. But, as the saying goes “it takes one to know one”, so from this writer to you: YOU. WERE. BORN. FOR. THIS. #keepwriting My friend!

Leave a Reply

